Put Your Hearts Up

I’ve heard it said that people come into our lives for a reason bringing something we must learn and we are led to those who help us most, to grow if we let them and we help them in return
Well, I don’t know if I believe that’s true but I know I’m who I am today because I knew you… – Wicked,

As the lyrics to one of my favourite songs say, people come into our lives for specific reasons. Whether they are positive or negative, they are there for a purpose. They step in to teach you lessons about life and even yourself. You’re often completely unaware of the wisdom that has been bestowed upon you, however it’s there. Each person who walks into your life adds a layer to you. They add substance. 

Normally at first glance, I am unable to tell the significance of a person when they walk into my life. Yet, as soon as Kate Fitzsimons presented herself I knew it was because I was about to receive a life long lesson.

1150822_447954618635404_2117313920_n
St Patricks College presentation, 2013.

 As a stressed out, but boisterous senior student, I didn’t fully understand what Kate could teach me, but I knew instantly it would be meaningful and a message that I would hold onto for a lifetime. The incredibly sad story of her sister, Nicole, who passed away in Thailand broke my heart. Nicole danced into lives of others and blessed them with gifts of love, motivation and possibility. I only wish I could have met her. I was inspired and moved by Kate’s strength and courage to continue the legacy of Nicole Fitzsimons. Teaching others about travel safety to avoid a repeat for another’s family is truly heroic.

 I have a sister myself overseas. Sarah is an American resident in reality, but home to my thoughts and heart in theory. Kate taught me that the unthinkable can happen and I should treasure the time with my family, despite the fact not all can physically be by my side. When I connected my sister to Kate’s presentation I instantly asked myself ‘If this happened to my sister, would I do the same.’ The answer was an immediate yes.

 Kate has continuously inspired me, and a simple blog post isn’t enough to really communicate how special she is.

Over the weekend, the experience of the Colourful Ball just reiterated how incredible Kate and her family are. Despite the stress of the event they were kind, warm and compassionate to all those around them. 

 The colourful ball was an event that I truly will treasure for the rest of my life. You never forget your first after all. The night was spectacular. I looked around and saw that there was not a face in the room that didn’t hold a constant smile.

I never had the opportunity to meet Nicole Fitzsimmons, however, that night I felt her presence in the room. She was there cheering us on and dancing along on the dance floor. That’s what this event and all that the family’s dedication is for. They work to keep Nicole’s presence and memory alive. It is magnificent and admirable.

I can’t thank Kate and her family enough for allowing me to be a part of such a special night and allowing me the opportunity to have such an experience. I was made to feel like one of the family.

Its crazy to think that the first time I learned about this family I was a stressed out HSC student excited to get my exams out of the way and be done with high school. In hindsight, I see that I was wrong to want to rush my way through life. Kate has taught me to live every day to the full and ensure that it is worth doing it all again.

I can’t wait for more years of friendship, and I can only hope that one day I can teach Kate a lesson as significant as she has taught me.

Again, I know a blog post isn’t nearly big enough to thank you for the opportunity and your friendship, but it’s a start.

Leave a Reply

