5 Series I want to tackle in 2017

I’m here to make a commitment, and you’re clearly here to see me make it, giggle and roll your eyes at my ambition. I often over shoot my reading goals, however I have set to quite a brilliant start this year so far.

I am an avid book collector, however I don’t read as fast as I collect. It’s problematic. I’ve had to invest in more shelves and give up a coffee or two to meet the demands of my book buying addiction. There is probably a place for me to go, where I sit in a circle, introduce myself and confess to the last book I purchased.

‘Hi, I’m Lauren. The last time I clicked ‘check out’ on the Book Depository was 2 hours, 16 minutes and 5 seconds ago.” 

 

I’ve still managed to pin down a few books in the beginning on 2017, so I decided I’d lock in some goals to knock out some series. All up I’ve completed 19 series, however the journey is something I’ll never get enough of. I love the tears, laughter and gratification of success you experience alongside a main character. I want more journeys.

1.Throne of Glass – Sarah J Maas

screen-shot-2017-02-07-at-7-25-01-pmIf you like badass female characters, this one is a must! So far I’ve picked up the first two books, and I am hooked. This book needs to be the next big thin. The next ‘Twilight’ or ‘Hunger Games’. I am a fantasy girl which makes me wonder, why the hell have I waited to join this bandwagon? There is already a large following, and quite a lot of hype surrounding this series which may have been what initially turned me off in fear of being disappointed, however I haven’t sighed in frustration as of yet. No eye rolling here!

In a kingdom where magic has ceased to exist, Adarland’s most notorious assassin Celaena Sardothien has the opportunity to redeem herself from her fatal mistake – being caught. The beautiful but deadly 18 year old, is relieved from her slavery duties in the mines of Endovier, to be thrust into a to-the-death tournament, fighting for her freedom. Representing the young prince who just so happens to be the heir to the throne, as well as juggling training sessions with Captain Westfall, the two males in this book will have your heart melting, and choosing a team to back (I’m totally team Westfall).

Image Via Sarah J. Maas
Image via Sarah J. Maas

Her opponents in the tournament are skilled warriors, thieves and criminals from across the empire nominated by members of the king’s council. If she sees victory she will serve the kingdom for four years and then be granted the freedom she so ever desires. However, things get more interesting along her journey as she befriends a princess, experiences a difficult love triangle and gets messages from an ancient queen.

2. Anna and the French Kiss Series by Stephanie Perkins

This has to be the perfect summer read, however it could definitely pass as a series you could cuddle up in beed on a cold day and read. However, I think this book is best suited by the pool or as company on your beach towel with the waves as background noise. I’ve managed to tackle the first two books, and I was amazed by the way Stephanie Perkins ensures her characters worm their way into your heart.

Image Via The Reading Fangirl
Image Via The Reading Fangirl

This series offers a fresh twist on the romance novels we all love to plunge into. They add an extra layer of warmth and feels to your reading experience. It’s a quick read, and a fantastic way to get out of any stress you might be experiencing in life. It’s just so easy to fall into, head over heels – not just because it’s a romance.

The books follow three separate stories of Anna, Lola and Isla each offering differing, yet thoroughly engaging love stories and dilemmas. If you’re looking for a romance novel that isn’t too over powering, this is definitely one you should seek out in the book store. The first book inspired my trip to Paris a few years ago, and the second book made me fall even more in love with that girl next door character – who doesn’t always have to be as corny as you think. Take that Taylor Swift!

3. Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling

This is of course a reread. I just miss the world this series has created. The fantasy, magic and ease of magic. J.K. Rowling is a wizard with her words, crafting up the perfect potion for any reader of any age. It’s not about the crazy fandom or the cinematic impressive movies. It’s about the unforgettable, emotional rollercoaster you’re buckled into when boarding the Hogwarts Express in book one – Hagrid waving goodbye as if he knows what you’re in for.

I want to dive back into the story and learn more. I have only read the series once, so I want to pick up what I missed. This way I can understand further the different layers of the characters which I have yet to uncover. This is one I am really looking forward to rereading, and a series I hope to complete in 2017. I do say as well, the late nights that just come hand in hand with a Harry Potter novel.

screen-shot-2017-02-07-at-7-51-19-pm
Image Via Jar of Quotes

4. Heroes of Olympus Series by Rick Riordan

I just this month finished the final book in the Percy Jackson series, which I of course loved! I am a massive history nerd, so reading the series was like being back in high school history class. The gods, the myths and the monsters paired with the heroes like Percy, Annabeth and Grover made me smile from ear to ear while following their story.

I want more of Riordan, because his ability to transport you is out of this world. Transporting me back to Ancient Greece, while still remaining in modern society. Picking up book one of the Heroes of Olympus is my solution to getting my Riordan fix. The Lost Hero kicks of the series, with young demi gods, Jason, Piper and Leo. The story follows the three of them as they learn to navigate the ways of Camp Half Blood and discover more about their divine parent. This is one series I am very much looking forward to starting.

5. The Winners Trilogy by Marie Rutkoski

screen-shot-2017-02-07-at-8-25-58-pmTechnically this is a trilogy, but I’m going to cheat anyway because it’s my blog… and I also really want to read this series. It looks incredible! I have grown up not trusting books, that have covers with a girl on it with a pretty dress. However, thats judging a book and defeats the purpose of the whole saying that goes hand in hand with books. I have had a bad experience with them. However, this one looks like it could be my saving grace.

It is packed with everything I love about a good novel. Kestrel, a general’s daughter, is given the choice of getting married or joining the military defending an empire which revels in war and enslaves prisoners of war. However, her intentions change entirely when she purchases a slave up for auction. Her purchase of Arin, the boy with a kindred spirit, leads to a romance, which must remain hidden. However, their love isnt the only thing being kept under lock. Arin, has a secret.

The world seems rich, and a fantasy dream. I am excited to be shocked at every turn, and be unable to put the book down. I know I am in for a wild ride with this trilogy.

<

Leave a Reply

